Collecting with no car seat
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Collecting with no car seat

I'm relatively new to childminding so not really sure if this is a situation which would ever come up, and I also know how I would react as a normal citizen and parent - but as a CM I can see there are different factors involved.... just wondering how any of you would deal with a relative collecting a mindee in a car, but with no car seat?

Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

It's a safeguarding issue - the child's safety must come first.

I would ring parents and let them know that I could not let the child leave as they were not going to be safe in the car.

Put the ball in their court and let them deal with the situation.

Hth

mar09
    Post Thanks / Like

i lended a booster seat more than once to a father who turned up in sport car with no seat.

he ask if i wouldn't mind and i said if you don't borrow the seat you're not having the child ( with a big smile ) as it's too dangerous and i wouldn't forgive myself if something happened!!

Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

I had this dilemma with a baby being collected by Mum in a taxi occasionally.

She would walk to me in the morning with baby in a sling, but would get a taxi from work, collect child and get in the taxi to go home.

The law states that when using a taxi if a child restraint is not available then they may travel unrestrained. I did put my foot down when I saw her getting in to the front seat with him and made her get in the back.

I offered her my car seat on numerous occasions, but she would refuse as she would have to walk back with it the next day.
    littletreasures xx

pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like