Is pacey worth joining?
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  6
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Is pacey worth joining?

Hi all, I'm new to all this and just wondered what pacey offer and whether it's worth joining? Thank you :-)

Registered Childminder since
    Apr 01
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Pacey are a professional organisation that campaigns on behalf of childminders (and the childcare sector now).

For members they offer some free on-line courses/webinars and some pay for ones. They offer cheap PLI insurance to their members ( you have to be a member to buy their PLI). They offer discounted products and stationary such as contracts, accounts books, accident, medication forms etc. Advice, legal help, in England Face to face support with and associate. Fact sheets, help videos etc. Magazines 4 x a year. Some training available local (depends on area). On-line log for CPD.

The most important thing they offer though is to campaign for childminders/childcare sector.

There are other groups that do similar things PLA (Preschool learning Alliance) for example and have similar benefits to Pacey.

MM (Morton Michel) are just an insurance company that offers some benefits to policy holders.

I am a member of Pacey - I have my insurance with MM which is more expensive than Pacey's but my choice.

3. Likes rickysmiths liked this post
    Nov 11
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

I'm a member, albeit a rather disappointed one.

IME they are great when you're starting out, but not much help if you're want to develop much beyond the basic level.

TBF, I think they are completely hamstrung by a membership who want far more than they're prepared to pay for. We can't expect the services of a truly 'professional representative body' if we want to pay a pittance for it.

5. Likes Richard liked this post
    Sept 14
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like