Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    sep 11
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Does my certificate include my own children in ratio

Hi

I am new to childminding and just wondering if where my certificate says 4 children under 8 does this include my two children? i have a 1 year old and a 4 year old who is not yet in school then a 10 month old mindee but i have a parent looking for after school care for a 5 and 7 year old. i dont wnat to take them on and be over.

Thanks

july 08
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

No it doesn't include your own children, they will have been considered when Ofsted decided the number on your certificate. you can have 4 minded children. Contact them to send a new certificate when your children reach a different 'stage' e.g. become 8 yrs or start full time education (reception ) as this will free up more spaces .

hope this helps,

bws,
    Wendy

apr 07
    Latest Inspection Grade
    GOOD
    Post Thanks / Like

Yes your own children are within the numbers I'm afraid. so including your 2 & the 10 month old you are full in your early years spots until you eldest is in full time school.

If the 5 year old is in full time school which he should be you are OK....

(oh maybe I have read it wrong, now I'm confusing myself)
    Last edited by maryp0ppins; 20-01-2012 at 12:10 PM.
    wow 2012 already

july 08
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

hmmm... a difference of opinion

I'd give ofsted a call to confirm either way

Oct 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

When Ofsted write your certificate they have already taken your own two into account so the number on your certificate is the number of mindees you can have. You could therefore care for four minded children in addition to your own. HTH

BuggsieMoo Guest

Hi