Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Starting points

Registered Childminder since
    pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Starting points

I'm new to all this and its doing my head in. I mind two children from one family, I asked their mum to tick the tracker sheet what she thought her children can do for their starting points and then I was working on the other points. My D.I came out and said its not a ticking sheet but I said its the parents starting points. I'm confused now, can I highlight where mum thinks they are and put this as their starting points on my tracker for the children.

Simona Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Amanda70 View Post
    I'm new to all this and its doing my head in. I mind two children from one family, I asked their mum to tick the tracker sheet what she thought her children can do for their starting points and then I was working on the other points. My D.I came out and said its not a ticking sheet but I said its the parents starting points. I'm confused now, can I highlight where mum thinks they are and put this as their starting points on my tracker for the children.
    it would help if you worked together with the parents and gather all the info
    Ask what they know their child can do and likes and then you observe to makes sure it is just so.
    The CIF will also help

You should be giving parents the guidance What to expect, when?
    What to expect, when? A parents' guide | From pregnancy to children aged 5
    The DfE now recommends this is used with parents

It would be impossible for you to 'track' a child you don't know at all....once the child is in your care then you can follow or track his progress once you have planned for his learning.
    Ask the parents to fill in something like 'All about me' then transfer that info into the child's LJ and start the process.