Help with my observations pls!
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  3
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    May 14
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Help with my observations pls!

I have been childminding for a couple of months now and have obviously made several observations. I'm trying to get my head around when/if I draw a line under previous observations so a child doesn't have a great long list of them at any given time! I think part of my problem has been that I have made most of my Next Steps quite open ended - eg. more balancing and moving activities, pouring activities, opportunity to explore other mechanical toys. Over the following sessions I've taken photos and added them to the child's Learning Journey where they relate to these Next Steps ... but, for example, we've done lots of pouring activities - he loves them, he's good at them, do I some how 'tick off' the Next Step or perhaps at the end of each month I only 'carry forward' some of the Next Steps and leave behind the ones I feel we have dealt with? Should I be making my Next Steps more specific so we do an activity and are done with them?

I have also very recently made some observations relating to a child's PSED but I can't see that a Next Step is relevant. Do I still fill out an Observation and leave the Next Step blank or note it as a Wow moment - does it matter so long as I record it?

Thanks in advance x

Nov 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

Not all Obs need a Next Step.
    Not all Next Steps will turn out to be relevant.
    Next Steps do not need to be followed up with photos to 'prove' them.
    It is absolutely right to have Next steps to do 'more of the same' as children need and love to repeat and repeat.