A right old pickle - too much planning and help needed!
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    May 13
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Default A right old pickle - too much planning and help needed!

Plan E 15.7.13.docxPlan E 15.7.13.docx

I am new to this and feel I am getting the planning completely wrong. I have one 17 month old at the moment. 2 full days and 1 half day per week. I have been planning activities to cover the 7 areas for EACH day 'E' attends. As you can imagine I don't get time to do most of them in between outings, lunchtime and nap. I am doing weekly observations and writing a few sentences under 'next steps'. I noticed that E does say circle, square, rectangle but hasn't identified 'triangle' so I was going to cut triangle shapes and let E paint them and I put this under next steps. I wonder if the few sentences I write under next steps would actually be fine for individual planning and I need to scrap this thing I am doing where I am listing 7 activities for the 7 areas per day!

Thanks so much for reading and if you could offer some guidance I would really appreciate it. I have attached the lengthy planning I have been doing that I feel I need to cut down.

Nov 05
    Post Thanks / Like

Hey Hun,

I've looked at your plans and they are very full and in depth...which is fantastic...but I would expect this type of plan with this many activities to cover about a month.
    If the child is only doing 2.5 days a week then that is a lot to try and squeeze in!

Also free play and child initiated play is just as important as planned activities...sometimes with more opportunities for observations and assessments

They way you're linking with the child's interests is wonderful...
    They way you're thinking about next steps etc is great too...

What you're doing is fantastic, so don't feel you're getting it 'wrong' as such...