Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    Dec 13
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Daily Diary - Help!

Evening all
    I am really new to all this, only registered in December and have my first little one starting next week! They will be doing two and half days to start with and are 27 months.
    My question is, I am fairly confident with the idea of a learning journal, and planning ahead using the EYFS. I see this as a formal document where I will sit down and think about their progress and plan ahead etc. I would expect to do this about once a month (am I right?)
    My big question is how do I record the daily / general stuff? I know in my mind, it will be things like " played with play-doh - talked about colours, what it felt like etc." but where and how do I record this? I have seen people talk about daily diaries and scrap books. Is a scrapbook okay or too informal? Would you photocopy it for the parent or give the parent the original and keep a copy to show Ofsted inspectors.
    As you can see it is all a little bit of a blur - and so way out of my comfort zone! (The paperwork that is - not the child care bit! )
    I would be grateful for any suggestions or templates that I can 'pinch'
    Thanks again

Oct 97
    Post Thanks / Like

My learning journal is a folder (used to use scrapbooks) with observations photos bus tickets etc all identified in area of learning and next steps, roughly works put at four a month. But obviously children don't learn one thing a week they might learn four things on one morning, so the amount I do is totally led by the children's personal development.

My daily diary is a note book where I write each day how the day has gone, I might add the odd phot or onbservation of I want to share with parent today, parents are encouraged to sign each entry and add any comments to it too.

So today (fictional)