About to start the registration process..... HELP!!!
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Non childminder member
    business.
    Post Thanks / Like

Smile About to start the registration process..... HELP!!!

Good Evening Everyone,

This is my first ever forum post so please bear with me.....

I have made the decision to set up my own child minding business. Now i have 14 years experience working in EYFS settings etc and all the relevant qualifications and certificates, and Ive been through enough OFSTED inspections not to be fazed by any of that, my biggest worries are -

1) Legalities - personal liability cover???? That is not something im used to, the thought fills me with dread. What if i get something so important wrong?

2) Charges - how much is not enough or too much to charge? Do i do it by the hour or a full day rate?

3) Measuring floor space - I am a mathematical whiz when it comes to understanding ratios etc BUT how do i measure my floor space??

I know these seem like simple questions, ive been the manager of a nursery for goodness sake im not sure why im fretting over it but any feedback or advice would be gratefully received.

Ta Muchly.

Penny

Registered Childminder since
    Nov 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

1) Legalities - personal liability cover???? That is not something im used to, the thought fills me with dread. What if i get something so important wrong?
    It is Public Liability Insurance, it is easy- just buy from Pacey or Morton Michel and you can't go wrong. I get mine with Pacey and Pacey membership. You can get it from Childcare.co.uk but I have never tried that one.

2) Charges - how much is not enough or too much to charge? Do i do it by the hour or a full day rate? Hourly is best I have found. If you charge by the day you will have problems with those wanting shorter hours (I have some 8-5, some 8.30-4.30 etc). Search the forum, it has been discussed a lot already.