Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Registered Childminder since
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

I believe I am a professional - I work hard even though I don't go out to work and I produce professional paperwork - even though I don't get paid time to do it in like teachers or someone who works in an office.

The reason I said that about going out to work is to highlight the often perceived link between professionalism and leaving the house wearing a suit every morning which seems to be a pre-conception of the older generation and many of my 'professional' friends such as teachers and lawyers.

I am professional with the children - I work with them on a much more focussed level than they get in group settings and I am respectful and clued into their needs, both learning and care.

A professional is about attitude and the value you place on the job you do. At the end of the day the majority of people can choose to be a childminder (with a CRB and a house to work from) but only those with passion for the job and and a professional outlook will strive to do their absolute best for the children, whatever the cost.

Some of my parents see me as a professional - some see me as a babysitter - some see me as a necessary evil because they need to go out to work. I work to change their views but they are often ingrained from their own upbringing with the 'baby minder down the road'.

One parent a few years ago remembered her time with her baby minder fondly... the television she watched, the biscuits she ate - I think she was actually sad that her child was missing out on that kind of life!! Yet in her day that childminder probably would have told you she was a professional as well - she never lost a child or caused a child ill, she kept them fed and watered, she chatted to them and helped them make their biscuits etc etc...

Good luck with your essay

Nov 07
    Post Thanks / Like