Thread: Home Insurance

Registered Childminder since
    dec1989
    Latest Inspection Grade
    good
    Post Thanks / Like

Angry Home Insurance

Morning,

Just getting some quotes for home insurance and sheilas wheels came up cheap so I rang them, went through all the details etc then he tells me they won't insure me because i'm a childminder who minds over 3 children!!
    Anyone else had this problem?

Amanda x

oct 08
    Latest Inspection Grade
    good
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Home Insurance

i recently changed my insurance to sheilas wheels no problem! they were the cheapest by far. when i told them i was a cm they said they couldnt insure my contents for accidental cover but i wasnt bothered about that as never had it before to keep premiums down.

Nov 04
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

I have been childminding for 5 years and have only just got round to informing my insurance company.

I kept putting it off because i thought they would increase my premium and not allow accidental damage. I figured if something got broke by a mindee i would just make out i did it. (this was advised by NCMA when i did my training but i expect things have changed now) I then read on here of someone, who's insurance company wouldn't pay out for leaking radiator that had ruined floors. This was nothing to do with childminding but because she hadn't declared it with them they wouldn't pay. Anyway i decided it was time i informed my insurance company which is Nationwide BS. My premium wasn't increased and i was still allowed to keep accidental damage. i think i pay around £170 per year for contents only. I wish i had done it earlier now but luckily i have never had to claim for anything.

June 08
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

I changed my recently to the co-op and got it £70 cheaper and more cover, yes they cover childminders for no extra cost worth giving them a call.

Straws xx

Latest Inspection Grade