Thread: Poor sleepers?

Registered Childminder since
    oct 02
    Latest Inspection Grade
    outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Default Poor sleepers?

I have 10 EY children, 3 are poor sleepers and wake up for the day around 4.30/5.00 am ... consequently, they are exhausted during the day.
    One I'm hoping is a temporary response to new sibling ...

But I'm not alone ... of the 3 other minders I see/ talk to locally, all have a couple ( at least ) of poor sleepers / very early risers ... I don't ever remember it being this bad before!

Is it just children today? !!!

Dec 87
    Post Thanks / Like

I have been doing this job for more than 30 years and I do think children are different these days. Due
    I think to all the stimulation they receive now as compared to before and although none of my current children wake that early none sleep for as long as they did back in the day. Usually it's a half hour nap and even the 7 week old baby I just took on doesn't sleep more than 3/4 hour at a time - if I'm lucky! Young babies used to sleep for a good couple of hours but no more.

3. Likes loocyloo liked this post
    oct 02
    Latest Inspection Grade
    outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by chris goodyear View Post
    I have been doing this job for more than 30 years and I do think children are different these days. Due
    I think to all the stimulation they receive now as compared to before and although none of my current children wake that early none sleep for as long as they did back in the day. Usually it's a half hour nap and even the 7 week old baby I just took on doesn't sleep more than 3/4 hour at a time - if I'm lucky! Young babies used to sleep for a good couple of hours but no more.
    I'm so glad to hear it isn't just me! I've been nannying or child minding for the past 30 years too!