Stop doing the school run
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  11
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    June 07
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Stop doing the school run

Hi All, I need some advice!! I am thinking of stopping doing the school run altogether. Come September I will have 3 pre-schoolers everyday, this means that they will be with me both on the morning school run and the afternoon. I have a mindee who is starting school in September, he has been with me about 3 years, mum has got him into the local school so that I can take him and collect him. Thing is, I really don't want to do it. Its going to be a nightmare getting all the kids in and out of the car to take him into the classroom. I have been childminding for 11 years and I have had the last year just doing the occasional drop off and collection to help out when the parents shifts clash so thats not been an issue but everyday day every morning and afternoon is starting to freak me out!! How would you word it to the mum of the child who is due to start in September. I really need some advise as its starting to make me feel ill with worry. Thank you xx

oct 02
    Latest Inspection Grade
    outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Hello and welcome.

That is a really hard decision to have made, and well done for doing so. Telling mum will be hard too. Do you know any other childminders who collect/drop off at the school? or before/after school club? maybe you could just do 1 or 2 days, or just a couple of collections? I do 2 drop offs a week, and 4 collections, and if I could drop the drop offs I would, but I can't!

I would just explain to mum, sooner rather than later, that although you have done an occasional school run this year, you have realised how much it will impact on the younger children to do a school run every day, and you have a duty of care to all children, and it just isn't going to work for you.

good luck

xx

June 07
    Post Thanks / Like