Likes Likes:  2
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    Pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Where do your mindees sleep?

Hi

I'm new to childminding and this is my first post so hello from me
    I have 2 little ones on my books currently that are a year old and another that is 10 months. not on the same days though. I have a travel cot with video monitor set up in my bedroom for them to have a good sleep. Is this ok? I've read a few things recently that it's not as if you had to evacuate etc. But as a mummy I'd want my child to have a good sleep in a cot rather than a push chair especially if it's their main sleep of the day.
    I don't have the room to have a cot set up down stairs.

Your thoughts and advice please x

Nov 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

Yes that is okay. I have 1-2 sleeping in cots upstairs with listening monitors. Sometimes one in a buggy downstairs or in a travel cot downstairs. As long as in sight OR hearing at all time, and if you have thought about how you'd get them out in an emergency, then that is fine. I have had several parents comment how well their little ones sleep here compared to a noisy nursery. A quiet bedroom is perfect, just risk assess like you would any other aspect of your day.

3. Likes FloraDora liked this post
    Nov 13
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

After the initial baby stage, I tended to have all asleep/ resting at the same time, upstairs in proper cots and beds, from 10months -4. As Moggy said, my parents also were amazed at how they slept here compared to with grandparents day or nursery, on mats or in buggies.
    Because we all went up after lunch it meant I was upstairs too, so the sleeping babies and toddlers were in my ear and eye shot ( through the gap in the door). The older children rested with an audio story and their own interest resting box for quiet play.