Advice please
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  5
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Advice please

Registered Childminder since
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Advice please

I have been minding for nearly 30 years and in that time have never openly advertised my services. Iv been very blessed with parent/carer recommendations.
    Two of my main contracts are ending this month unexpectedly and I'm thinking of joining Childcare.co.uk. Have checked it out a bit and I could meet the needs of some of the families wanting childcare.
    Just after advice from those that have joined, what worked, what didn't. Feeling nervous about stepping into the unknown.

Nov 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

I use it whenever I have a vacancy- I get Gold Membership month by month then cancel when I am full again.
    I have got work from it.
    I message everyone who might be a potential family- there are all kinds of time wasters and people just testing the market, so don't get your hopes up too high, many messages may never get read or do not get a reply. But keep at it, keep logging-on which bumps you up the list when parents search for you, write a good clear profile with your vacancy situation prominently in the first line (so it shows up when scanning down the list of CMers) and try to get current and past members to leave you reviews (which also helps your ratings & gets you higher on the list)- they need to sign up to leave a review but can opt to not have their profile public.
    There are discount codes for when you sign up for Gold- look out for them, or ask Richard on here.

3. Likes hectors house liked this post
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

I joined a few years ago and any work that hasn't come through word of mouth has come through there.

When you set up a profile really use it to sell yourself. Have a read through other cm's profiles and see which are good and which aren't so good.