Need some advice/ experience- choosing not to renew a temp contract?
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  14
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    jun 14
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Need some advice/ experience- choosing not to renew a temp contract?

Sorry I have a feeling this may be complicated but I will try to post an abridged version of the situation I now find myself in!

I am just starting out as a CM and have had lots of enquiries, and have signed up my first mindees who are siblings needing one day a week. The contract is temp til Xmas to be reviewed if the parent's job moves from being temp to longer term in the new year. I also have interest for a few more one day a weekers. The parent needed this care urgently and I know it is unlikely anyone else in the area would have 2 spaces at such short notice, so I believe I was her only option.

Literally a few hours after signing the contract with this parent, I had a phone call from a teacher, wanting term time only on the days I work (ideal for me), she's round the corner from me and I already know her kids (they attend the same toddler groups as me with their current CM). Here's the thing I don't know what to do about though-

She wants the care to start from January, so it is possible I could do this, but only if either the lady I've just signed up says she doesn't need me, or of course, if I tell her I don't want to renew the contract.

My question therefore is, considering the contract I've just signed with the parent of the siblings is temp until Xmas to be reviewed, could I say in a few weeks time that I won't be able to renew after Xmas?