Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Childcare business grant query

Hi everyone.

I am just in the process of applying for the childcare business grant as I have now officially registered woohooo!!! However I noticed there is a higher amount of the grant if you care for disabled children.
    I don't have any disabled children at the moment, however this is what my background is based around and I would be happy to support a child with additional needs in the future. Should I apply for this to allow me to purchase equipment and update my training on the basis that I may care for a child with a disability in the near future?
    There is not a lot of guidance on this

Thank you in advance x

Reg 13
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Hi

I was in same boat and decided to go for the higher grant, and did get it. I kept a proportion back to spend on disability toys.

Please keep all your receipts though, as if was picked for a random audit and had to provide all receipts on what I had bought.

At the time I didn't have a sen child with me, so wrote that I hadn't spent all the money until I knew what any child I would have would need. All fine.

Hope that helps.

3. Likes wee_elf liked this post
    may 05
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

Is this grant only available to newly registering childminders as I was talking to a friend in Wales and she said she is applying for a grant at the moment? - I would love a grant to buy some more outdoor bikes, trikes and to build a porch type structure behind my house, but because it would be a permanent structure attached to the house I can't even put the expenses through my accounts to offset any tax.

Post Thanks / Like