How to help achild with a phobia of knives.
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Glitter Guest

Default How to help achild with a phobia of knives.

A three year old I look after on an ad-hoc basis has developed a phobia of knives.

She is fine with the normal knives we eat with, but when I use a sharp knife in the kitchen she stands in the corner and cries, and when I put the knife down she picks up a tea towel and covers it up. Her Mum said it is becoming a real problem at home and has asked for advice about how to help her daughter overcome this. The child has not had a bad experience with a knife that the Mum knows about.

I am not sure how to help, but I told Mum I knew a wonderful forum with lots of people who might have more advice.

Registered Childminder since
    Dec 02
    Post Thanks / Like

Kids can become scared of things. It's good to be a bit wary, but your child is a bit extreme!

I worked in retail for many years. I knew two people who had nasty knife accidents. (In a total of 20 years). One used the wrong sized/shaped knife for a job and cut herself, the second lay the knife down on the surface with the knife edge pointing upwards, she then leaned over and leant on it!
    I teach my kids to use the correct knife for the job, and also to also only have one knife out at a time.

For your cooking, I find I do a lot of cutting using sharp scissors. This might help you cook without freaking her out.

Good luck

Registered Childminder since
    May 13
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

I wonder if she saw something on TV where someone cut themselves with a knife?

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Glitter View Post