Likes Likes:  5
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Play area

Registered Childminder since
    Pre-Reg
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Play area

Hey,

My kitchen is a large rectangle shape with kitchen one end dining room the other side. I am just wondering as long as I put a room divider/gate across the kitchen would I be able to use the dining area as a play room? Aslong as I risk assessed and wouldn't leave children alone etc etc.

Also looking into toy storage if I am to buy the Expedit Ikea unit do I have to make sure this is attached to the wall or anything?

(sorry if my questions seem dumb I am a newbie to Ofsted etc)Thanks in advance Xx

pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

I think as long as everything is risk assessed it shouldn't be a problem (but I am new to this too so not 100% sure). We were told our expedit had to be attached to the wall was simple enough to do and it does make it more sturdy.

Post Thanks / Like

I have a l shaped extension that has a small kitchen at one end and the play area is open plan to this. Ofsted never mentioned bordering it off just risk asses your oven ect and cupboards. Explain it's a open to baking playing messy on the floor , he was very pleased when assessing me and only suggested maybe getting heat proof film on oven door. Also have the ikea storage never spoke about it like the easy access for kids .

4. Likes PeekABoos liked this post
    Sept 09
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

I guess it depends on which size Expedit unit you have. When I had a six box one I never fixed that to anything and used to move it around to suit. Now I have the 16 box one which is huge and definitely needs fixing to the wall. It would be deadly if it fell over.

xxxx

6. Likes PeekABoos liked this post
    pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

I have bought a extendable gate/safety pen to use to divide my kitchen/diner in the same way. I was going to risk assess EVERYTHING and hope Mrs O would be happy with this xx