Unsettled child and notice period
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  4
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Registered Childminder since
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Unsettled child and notice period

I've been minding for ten years. I recently took on a little one of 11 months and from day one has screamed all day evety day. After 4 weeks of this I've said to parents I feel I cannot continue. It's distressing for him, for me and for others in my care. I cannot do the usual things we would normally do - toddler group had been abandoned for 4 weeks and I'm neglecting the other 2 because this little one needs constant one to one. But the mother has said I have to give her 4 weeks notice! But I've told her its jeopardising the care of the other children and hes so upset but she's said I'm obliged to. Surely I'm not under these circumstances? I'm dreading him coming tomorrow :-(

Oct 12
    Latest Inspection Grade
    over it ;-)
    Post Thanks / Like

did you put a settling in period in the contract? Are you still within it?

Im not sure if you could say it is jeopardising the care of the other children as you have done so for the last four weeks. I will happily be corrected though.

Post Thanks / Like

No I've had to call parents several times to collect him in the past 4 weeks as hes been so distressed. We've had discussions to try to work out ways to settle him which I've followed up in writing, the last one said I would persevere until end April but since concluding the situation really is not working she now says she wants 4 weeks notice. It really is having a huge impact on the other children. I can't take them anywhere as he screams and at home my attention is fully on him. I have to consider all the children, and this has been an issue since day one which we've discussed. Contracts have not been signed yet x

Post Thanks / Like

They were to be signed once he settled in x

Oct 12
    Latest Inspection Grade
    over it ;-)
    Post Thanks / Like