Looked After Child - Info and Advice please!!
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    Aug 12
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Looked After Child - Info and Advice please!!

Hello,

I have a looked after child in my care for the past two weeks - full time. Very little information has been passed on from Children's Services and already this has already raised a Safeguarding concern for my other mindees. This is my first time having a Looked After Child as new to Childminding. It feels at the moment that the rule book in certain respects is being thrown out the window and no support! I am coping although in bed at 8:00pm last night!

I am just wondering if anyone else has had a Looked After Child and what records they kept as trying to ensure all t's are crossed and i's dotted as I suspect when Children's Services do decide to make contact they will be expecting something as well as I want to cover myself. Also as an EYFS child what happens with OFSTED when they come, what will they be expecting in terms of paperwork with this child? Has anyone been inspected with a Looked After Child in their care?

Many thanks in advance.

Jan 06
    Latest Inspection Grade
    good
    Post Thanks / Like

Treat child like any other and that is also what ofsted would expect. I would demand info in child in my case ask that someone completes all about me doc. I would be mindful when taking photos for observations and that child only appears in their own lj and not others
    Children are born with wings we help them to fly.

Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

You can't work without documentation - it's a statutory requirement of the EYFS!!

No documentation = you are not working to legal requirements = no care until everything is signed.

If the child is challenging you need to ask for urgent support too.

Hugs xx

Jan 06