Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Registered Childminder since
    Jan 07
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Getting a puppy and childminding

Hi

We have finally decided to get a Labrador puppy after 5 years of considering it. I have been childminding for 5 years and have had our cat and rabbit as pets. Sadly our rabbit passed away just before Christmas.

Both my husband and I grew up with a Labrador dog so have decided on this breed and the fact that they are a good family dog to have. We have put our name on a waiting list after looking at a number of breeders and their testomonials.

My question is how do I let parents know that we are in the near future going to have a puppy joining our family. Shall I send out an email? Or just verbally tell them.

We are all so excited and have done lots of reading up on Labs, and we are fully prepared that having a pup will be like having a baby. I'm hoping that my parents will be okay with it. My children have waited and waited and we now feel this is the right time.

Sam x

Oct 12
    Latest Inspection Grade
    GOOD! Hurrah
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Don't let my wife read this! She keeps going on about having a puppy. Our rabbit also passed away just before Christmas. Is this an omen?! My aunt has had her puppy for a year now and does take a lot of time and effort. The puppy would keep jumping up at my son and knocking him over, hence he doesn't like him at all! Hopefully your breed is quickly trainable.

Sorry quite negative but that's just my experience!

Jan 07
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like