Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Registered Childminder since
    mar 07
    Latest Inspection Grade
    OUTSTANDING
    Post Thanks / Like

Default charging for xmas and boxing day

Ive just had another childminder querying the fact that I charge for all bank holidays including christmas and boxing day. I think she was really surprised that I charge. Ive been childminding for nearly 8 years and have always charged for ALL bank holidays. IE if your child is due to attend on that day, you will get charged. This is clearly written in my contract and no parent has ever queried it.

The only parents I do not charge are those that have children attending term time only. All other children that attend all year round are charged.

Ive also made it quite clear that if im needed to work on bank holidays i charge double pay, and triple on xmas day.

Do other childminders charge? or am i in the minority?

I do work all year round except for one week in april, one week in October and two weeks in the summer. My setting is open 48 weeks a year.

The other childminder was really surprised and i think quite shocked that I charge?

Part of the reason why i charge is because the parents receive pay for bank holidays, so why shouldn't i?

Im interested to hear your views .....

oct 05
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

I don't charge for bank holidays although I do tell parents if there are any I am willing/able to work in which case they would be charged at a higher rate. I don't know what others think but I would be surprised if other self employed child minders charged for Christmas day. I do understand the reasoning that parents get paid for bank holidays but then being self employed is different to being an employee.

Mar2008
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like