Bum or Bottom... Belly or Tummy?
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Registered Childminder since
    June 11
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Bum or Bottom... Belly or Tummy?

I know everyone is different and prefers different words. I prefer May I, instead of Can I that is my biggest thing oh and silly insteady of stupid. Although I am not OTT about it IYSWIM.

I have a parent to can't stand Bum or Belly and prefers bottom and tummy, however I have one mindee who always says bum "hehehe Emma, I done bum burps hehehehe" lol... which isn't swearing, but the other mindees pick it up and use it lol...

It is not a big issue, just something I have noticed really. What are you/parents like about certain words?

md0u0131 Guest

I think because I'm a Biologist by degree I prefer the more technical terms for things. I can cope with bottom and tummy but get irrationally annoyed when people use things like stomach when they mean abdomen!

Pipsqueak Guest

bum, belly, backside, botty, tummy, fart, pump, trump etc are acceptable words to me

oct 08
    Latest Inspection Grade
    good
    Post Thanks / Like

I tend to use bottom but will occasionaly say bum.

I do HATE it thought when a parent or minder says "come on lets change your bum"
    It just sounds horrible! its a nappy you are changing not a bum!

I also really really hate dodie instead of dummy sorry but its sounds common

oct 05
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

I have a parent who hates the word fart and says its akin to swearing. She prefers botty burp!? This is the woman who calls the girls bits 'fluff' - talk about confusing. I prefer the proper names and say fart deliberately

aug 06
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Satisfactory
    Post Thanks / Like

Cannot stand the word "dodie"

Pipsqueak Guest

Quote Originally Posted by sweets View Post
    I tend to use bottom but will occasionaly say bum.