Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Holiday charges

Non childminder member
    parent
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Holiday charges

Hi,

I am parent who is returning to work and so had the difficult task of finding a childminder i felt comfortable in leaving my children with. I have managed to do this and am pleased with the lady who will be looking after my girls. I work in a hospital and so my hours are shift patterns, we have worked out fees and the childminder is aware that the hours she will be required to work each week will vary but as they are worked out on a 5 week rotation she will always know in advance when she is required. I have not signed any contracts as of yet as i still don't have a work start date but i have started to fill in all of the required forms. My query is about holiday retainer fees, i comletely understand that i am required to pay 4 weeks holiday a year at half fees for holidays in which i take but the chidlminder has also requested that i pay 4 weeks holiday at half fees for when she and her family go on holiday. This seems completely wrong to me as it will mean that not only will i have to pay her half fees for her holiday leave but i will also need to find another childminder to look after my children who i will be paying full fees for, this will mean i will be paying out triple fees for her booked holiday!! Is this normal practice for the chidlminder to charge half fees for there annual holiday period as well as mine? Seems wrong to me and i have never been aware of it before. If this is the case to save on my fees either myself or my husband would have to book leave when she takes leave so as not to have to pay out for costs of 2 chidlminders! Any help is much appreciated.

Registered Childminder since
    Latest Inspection Grade
    GOOD
    Post Thanks / Like

I charge no fee whilst I am on holiday But I charge full fee whilst parents are on holiday so really its the same only worded differently.