Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    Dec 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Question Contracts and payments

Hi All,

Wondered if you could help me, i am new to childminding and have a question about a child i have agreed to care for.

Ok so her mother (single parent) told me that child would be coming each morning for 2hrs before school which is fine, so i assumed we would be putting these hours on the contract (when it turns up) however she contacted me on sunhday night at 9pm to say her child would need to be collected from school this week as her shifts have changed! which is fine but what hours do i put on the contract i cant live on a week by week not knowing wat hours i will have her and not knowing if one week she will turn around and say she only needs me this week for 2days you know? i need a minimum hours per week agreed? cos at the min it feels as tho she is taking me for granted ??

please help

Max

Oct 08
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Contracts and payments

You should not really be working without a contract. However, you can agree in your contract to whatever booking and payment arrangements you like. If you are happy with the hours of care swapping from morning to afternoon, but just need to have a bit of notice, I'd suggest stating in your terms that you need a week's notice (for example) of the sessions required. If you don't mind when the sessions are, but need to guarantee a certain weekly income, you can specify a minimum fee per week in the notes section on page two of the NCMA contract. It is absolutely vital to make sure you work out what is acceptable to you, and then ensure the parent understands your terms and agrees to them, all properly documented in your contract. Otherwise you are setting yourself up to be messed about and to have disputes.

july 08
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Hi ,