Retainer fees- am i being taken for a ride?
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Non childminder member
    parent
    Post Thanks / Like

Question Retainer fees- am i being taken for a ride?

Hello all, sorry if I am posting this in the wrong place but I have never used a forum before!

I have a question about retainer fees: I have 3 children who are looked after by an excellent childminder. She has recently gone on holiday for three weeks (well deserved as she cares for 7 kids in all!) before going she left my bill. I read it to find that for the three weeks she is away she has charged me a retainer (50% of normal fees). I understand that if I were going away this would apply but I'm not so sure if its the case when she is away as she wont be working???? Help!!! Im totally confused and I dont want to lose a great childminder nor do I want to have the micky taken out of me!

Registered Childminder since
    Jan 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    OUTSTANDING
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Retainer fees- am i being taken for a ride?

get your contract out, have a look and see if you have agreed to pay half fee for her holidays. Some Cms do (i personally dont, i charge full fees for parents hols though).

Have a chat with her (she might have changed her terms when she took another family on after you and she may be confused and has forgotten you are on different terms....as we all get confused sometimes )

hope this helps...someone who is more with it will come along in a bit

mandy xxxxx
    The bats have left the bell tower.....

jun 09
    Post Thanks / Like

definately check your contract or have a word with her when she comes back. If you've got a good relationship with her then this shouldnt be a big problem i would hope. xx

Aug 09
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like