Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Runaway Parents

Registered Childminder since
    May 09
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Runaway Parents

Hi

I am new to childminding. I looked after a child for 2 weeks and now the parent has left, moved house without paying. Is there anything I can do to trace the parent or get my money? Any advice or suggestion will be helpful

Regards

Aug 94
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Runaway Parents

Oh dear it doesn't sound hopeful.

I always take a 4 weeks fees as a Deposit. I hold the money until the end of the contract and then use it towards the 4 weeks notice period as long as all fees are up to date at that time. Parents then pay their fees in advance on the first Monday of the month or the first day of the week they have care.

Having had my fingers burnt in the early days ( I've been minding for 15yrs now) I make no exceptions to this rule. I also have a late payment fee of £5 per day which unless a parent comes and talks to me about a problem is added to the bill without exception.

I also have late collection fees of £5 for each 15mins late. Obviously I don't always use this because things happen and parents can sometimes be a few mins late the same way I have parents who will sometimes arrive a bit early. It is there for those who are always late and refuse to review their contracted hours when it is suggested. A month of late fees will ususally concentrate the mind!

Don't get me wrong, I'm not an ogre, really lol. I will not be taken for a mug either. This is my business. I provide a service for which I charge a fee. I can't go and have piano lessons without paying, or walk out of Tesco with the weekly shop and not pay without there being a concequence. It the same with my childminding Service.