Likes Likes:  5
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Holiday club

Registered Childminder since
    pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Holiday club

Hi,

I am just in the process of setting up. I am planning on boosting my earnings during the school holidays by running a holiday club for school age children (only a couple a day, possibly elder siblings of my EY children). I will be charging £32.50 per day all inclusive for EY children (which is about average around here) and was thinking of charging £25 per day for the holiday club children.

Do you feel in your experience that this sounds about right? I am struggling to find prices on line for all day care for school age children.

Thanks

Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Are there any clubs in your local area? What they charge will give you a better idea of how to pitch it...

I hope it goes well

Nov 11
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

I'm no expert, but your charges strike me as a bit AAF.

IME schoolies eat way more than EY children, consume vast amounts of expendables (such as craft materials), need far more attention (having largely lost the ability to play on their own initiative- I think this is one of school's first "deskilling" lessons) and they break stuff too.

How long is your 'day'? If it's any more than eight hours then I'd gladly sub-contract my minders to you or the holidays and still keep a tidy profit!

And why charge according to the local average? How does that relate to your costs and the quality of the service you're offering? No offence, but if you're only interested in the average then you're inadvertently sending out a message that you're an 'average' childcare service.

4. Likes Dragonfly, Mouse liked this post
    Nov 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

I agree, school holiday care is very demanding.