Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  3
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Charges

Registered Childminder since
    pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Charges

Hi, I'm new to all this. I've had my registration visit and been cleared, just waiting for certificate to come through. I've had a couple of interested people but they weren't happy with some of my charges.
    I was just wondering what other people do in terms of lunch/dinner - do you charge extra? If so, how much? Do you charge for outings/ trips? If so, do you charge full price? Subsidised?
    I don't want to put people off but at the same time I am running it as a business and need to make money from it.

TIA
    xx

Nov 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

I do all inclusive hourly rate.
    This is easy for me to work out for invoices.

It means I do not need to count who ate what meals.
    It means I do not have to bother about parents choosing to bring packed lunches to avoid meal fees (I do not want to store lunch boxes and like to have all eating the same meals to avoid lunchbox-envy).

I only do free/cheap outings- woods, toddler groups, parks, beach, library, children & family centre... really no need to pay for much.
    I have very low expenses over all, about 27% of gross income, so pretty profitable I feel.

You can control your outgoings to maintain your profitability by cooking simple, filling cheap meals (lentils, beans), avoiding expensive outings (they can have more fun on a simple day out in the woods or picnic at the park than a £££ overcrowded soft-play place or farm park) etc

3. Likes Victoria85, bunyip, Sonia_79 liked this post
    Feb 06
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like