Help with averaging out fees please :)
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  3
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Help with averaging out fees please :)

Hi everyone,

I'm new to childminding (and to this forum!) and am having a bit of a confusing time working out fees. I have two sets of parents wanting care from 12th Jan, one TTO and another TT but with adhoc care in holidays which I will charge a half-fee retainer for. It's really important that I have a predictable monthly amount coming in at the moment so want to average out my fees - I was thinking of running them both until September when their care needs will change a bit due to moves up to Reception. My questions are....

Do I add up the weeks manually until the contract is to be renewed eg. 24wks @ £x (term-time) and 6wks @ 1/2 fee (holiday) and then work this out as a monthly fee? How would I work out the monthly fee?

What about the inclusion of INSETS? Should I add these in?

or the exclusion of my holidays - would I need to take these weeks off the total weeks included.

Sorry if this seems confusing, I have a feeling I'm making it more confusing than it needs to be!

If anyone has a really good formula they could share I'd be really grateful

Thanks

A x

May '09
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

I would just add up all the amounts due for all the weeks till you think the contract will change. Then divide this total, by the number of months between now and then.

I have the term dates from my school so know when the inset days are - this I can just add them into the above total.

Have I made sense / helped?

3. Likes Chatterbox Childcare liked this post
    pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Zoomie View Post
    I would just add up all the amounts due for all the weeks till you think the contract will change. Then divide this total, by the number of months between now and then.