Am I being OTT?
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  2
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Am I being OTT?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Am I being OTT?

Hey all- newbie here after some advice!!

I currently look after a 5 year old along with his sister 5 days a week- our contract is for after school pick ups and holidays. The trouble we have is that he hasn't settled and since September has been doing half days- these have now dropped to half days on Thursdays and Fridays. I agreed this with his mum but before half term told them that the Friday pick up is a problem because I have to pick up my own daughter from preschool. They assured me he would be out in time to get up tot he preschool. Trouble is he never is and I have had to pick my daughter up an hour earlier each week which obviously means I am paying for an hour she isn't using

They now want to continue the half days until Christmas and they either need to switch days or pay for the extra hour- this has led to them getting very shirty!!

Am I in the right here. Or am I being over the too for an hours fees? Sorry for the essay and advice would be great!!

Registered Childminder since
    july 08
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Hi ,

I agree with you that it can't continue: they need to negotiate a more convenient day/time for collection really. You are doing them a favour by changing your daughter's pick up time from the other nursery, but they may not see it like that as they didn't ask you to.... if you see what I mean?

If it was me I would've just been late to collect my child once and then explained immediately what had happened and that I wouldn't be able to risk it again. Ball in their court.
    They are probably a bit miffed that you have 'kind of' gone along with it by collecting your daughter early, (so they assumed it was ok) and are only now getting tough.