Parents wants same fee each month
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  3
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Parents wants same fee each month

Hello I am newly registered and have my first family starting next Tues. The dad wants me to work out the fees so it the same each month. What about if there's an school closure would I just add that on & also how can I work out how many holiday times they will be with me. They are in a state school & will be doing 7.30-9 then 3-7 3 days a week & 7.30-7 3 days in the school holidays. I will have 4 weeks of not paid a year holiday time.
    Think its easier if I do weekly in advance or maybe monthly? I understand because there's 2 of them he would be paying a lot more in the holidays so probably wants to spread it.
    Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

Hi I am new to childminding too and my first family did this. Although it seemed ok at first it turned into a real nightmare and caused problems when days were changed etc.

If you are happy to do this then that's great but I personally wouldn't do it again :-)

Registered Childminder since
    Mar 04
    Post Thanks / Like

I do it for parents and to work out a figure I do:
    38 weeks at term time rate plus 14 weeks at holiday rate (I charge for my hols but you would deduct 4 weeks from whichever rate)
    divide by 12

I keep a running total of actual costs for care for the month and deduct the monthly payment so there will be either a credit or negative balance carried forward to the next month which will make itself right eventually any extra's are added on to be paid in addition to the monthly figure. This way if parents leave mid year you are aware of any outstanding balance.

4. Likes rickysmiths, loocyloo liked this post
    Feb 12
    Post Thanks / Like

I do this with all my parents, days and holidays are worked out for both of us then divide it by 12 months. I find it easier and so do parents to know its same amount each month x

June 09