Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    May 11
    Post Thanks / Like

Default need help with wording for rate increase

Hello

I want to increase my rate by 30p an hour which is still one of the cheapest in the area. I am not very good with formal letters and I was wondering if a few people could share the wording that you used when you informed your parents so that I can copy a few lines.

I want to attach it to the invoice at the end of the month giving 30 days notice.

Thank you so much.

Moira

may 05
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

I said this last year on a newsletter obviously your circumstances are different as you haven't been minding very long -"Sorry folks, but due to the every increasing costs of gas, electric, petrol, food, etc, and the fact that I have not put my charges up for 4 years!, I will be increasing my hourly rate from £3.60 to £3.75 from the beginning of September. For most of you this will mean an increase of less than £1.50 a day."

Have you gained any extra qualifications or attended training which means you are more qualified than when you registered? 30p does seem a very large increase - did you not check out the going rates in your area before you advertised your rates? But there again are the people who are charging lots more full or have they all got spaces? I would definitely give more than 30 days notice - I gave my parents 6 months!

May 11
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by hectors house View Post
    I said this last year on a newsletter obviously your circumstances are different as you haven't been minding very long -"Sorry folks, but due to the every increasing costs of gas, electric, petrol, food, etc, and the fact that I have not put my charges up for 4 years!, I will be increasing my hourly rate from £3.60 to £3.75 from the beginning of September. For most of you this will mean an increase of less than £1.50 a day."