Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: CM Holidays

Registered Childminder since
    Mar 13
    Post Thanks / Like

Default CM Holidays

Hi

Newbie here, just in the process of starting up, hoping to be official on Monday (am in daily contact with Ofsted chasing my registration certificate!).

I have been looking after my friend's 2 children now for about 18m without payment, but as of Monday they will be my first mindees as I've jumped through all the necessary hoops.

I have been trying to sort out my contract so I can go through it with her over the next few days, but I'm a little confused with regards holiday pay.

There are a couple of other CMs in my village and I had a big long chat the other day to one, but she's on holiday now. She charges clients half for holidays. She said some charge more per hour and don't charge for holidays, and others do like she does and charge for when she does go away.

However, if I'm charging my friend for 9 hours a week term time, holidays are different, then at what point do I introduce a holiday charge? I do have a holiday booked for end of June, should this be one incident? What would I do about school holidays, as her requirements will alter depending how much annual leave she chooses to take. And she'd probably just put her kids in the nursery instead if I started charging. Hmmm.

How do you manage it? I was planning on charging her weekly, in advance.

Thanks!

pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

Hi. Welcome to the world of childminding!!!!! A lot of childminders work along the rule of "if I'm able to work I charge,if I'm not I don't" therefore you charge for their holiday and if they're off sick,but if you're on holiday or off sick you don't charge. That's what I do and it works. Hope that helps. Xxx

Sept 09
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by sophieg View Post