Childcare register
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  4
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    May 05
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Childcare register

Hi, newbie here. Well, not to childminding but to this forum. I am hoping that someone can shed light on a query I have.
    I have been minding for 12 years, am a support childminder and have been a member of the local childminding network for the last 10 years. I look after 3 under 5s and also have before and after school children. Most of whom I have had since babies. The oldest 2 are 9 yrs old. I have been told by another minder that I now need to have nvq2 in childcare which I don't actually have. I have read the criterior and this seems to be the case if you are on the voluntary part of the register. I am a little confused as I cannot understand why this is needed for school children and not little ones. All my training is up to date and I always take advantage of courses available, however I have not completed this one. Could anyone please advise? Do I need to come off the voluntarypart of the register or will I have to take the training? It seems quite a lot to do for two 2 hour sessions per week. I hate to sound negative, it's just that we take part in so much trainging which seems very relevant for the children in our care and this seems a little excessive for such short care periods. Any comments appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Simona Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Lob View Post
    Hi, newbie here. Well, not to childminding but to this forum. I am hoping that someone can shed light on a query I have.