how many???? Wales!
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    pre reg
    Post Thanks / Like

Default how many???? Wales!

hey im new to this so i dont even think im posting this in the right place.

i'm going through the process of registering but im a little confused!!!!
    my pre reg inspector told me i can have my little boy (7m) and 1 over 18 months up to 5 years, then 4 over 5 years. She did stumble telling me what ages i could have!!!!
    however, i thought i could have 3 children under 5 (including my son) and 3 children over 5!!!!
    I hope this makes sense!!!! and someone can tell me how many children and the ages I can have.
    im in carmarthenshire, south wales. xx

Mar 11
    Post Thanks / Like

As I understand it is 6 under 8, 3 of which can be in the EYFS which covers children up to the 31st August after their 5th birthday, of which 1 can be under 1 year.

In my case I have a 4yo and a 2yo so at the mo could have 1 preschooler in the eyfs and 3 after schoolers, or 4 after schoolers only.

Children in full time education even if under 5 do not count as in the eyfs for childminding purposes.

Confused? you will be!!

Apr 01
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

jemma is in Wales so it is different to England and we don;t work under EYFS!

Hi Jemma

I am also in Carmarthenshire. Normal numbers are 6 children under 8 years, of which no more than 3 should be under 5 (unless in full-time education), and no more than 2 under 18 months. Your son will take one of your places so the maximum you can be registered for is 5 under 8, no more than 2 under 5 and no more than one under 18 months.

Do ring CSSIW just to confirm though.
    Last edited by tulip0803; 21-02-2011 at 04:24 PM.

Nov 07
    Post Thanks / Like

Does sound a bit strange the numbers your inspector gave you