What do i do with my receipts?
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  14
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    aug 14
    Post Thanks / Like

Default What do i do with my receipts?

I am just starting out and I have bought the Pacey accounts book which looks pretty straight forward. Do I just staple my receipts for that week together and keep them labelled in a box or somewhere. Do you keep receipts just I case you are audited. Or the tax man pays a visit?

Thanks a lot. Probably a silly question!

Oct 05
    Post Thanks / Like

I staple a months wortg together & put in a A4 envelope, when its got the full 12mths (tax year, apr-mar) I seal it & store with the accounts book.

Nov 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

I use pacey accounts book, this is what I do :

Tape a clear plastic A4 sleeve inside the front cover.
    Each time I have a receipt I number it and write in the book, writing number in the column as indicated.
    Put the receipt with number written on it in the sleeve, latest one on top.

End of year, all the receipts and accounts are all together so nice and easy to store away incase ever needed.

aug 14
    Post Thanks / Like

Excellent ideas thanks!

Dec 11
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good ;-)
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Great ideas above, and don't forget that accounts books and receipts must be kept for 6 years in case of an inspection by HMRC.

Nov 13
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

My accountant friend told me to keep receipts in category not monthly as that is what we have to work out...I have yet to do a tax return so we will see...I keep my education resources and food, petrol, household receipts separate.

July 14
    Post Thanks / Like