Likes Likes:  5
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    Apr 11
    Latest Inspection Grade
    GOOD
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Claiming CPD expenses?

How far can you claim CPD expenses? I have done a fair bit of training/study and have always claimed for the related expenses. (travel, parking, childcare, resources, stationary etc)
    I now plan to be in 'full time' uni next year. I will continue to run my business for evenings, weekends, holiday care whilst studying. (as I have been studying for past 2 years and continued to work) The qualification I will get will be beneficial for my business as I will have QTS and may help me expand to provide for older children, extra tuition, home schooling, training etc - I could really branch out into a variety of services/features that would give me some good selling points (- even out of school club if the govt has its way!)

Can I continue to claim for CPD expenses?

What happens if I then just happened to decide that with my new qualification to close my business and start a new career - can it still be classed as CPD? - as it ultimately turns out I am not using it for my business? Teacher training could be argued to be training to be a teacher - not to provide better provision for a childcare business.

Seems unlikely that I could but I just want to know where I stand?

Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

I was recently helping a childminder who is being audited by HMRC - they said that she couldn't put her degree costs through because they are not essential to running her business... BUT I know a lot of cms who do put them through and of course if you are not audited it's not going to be a problem!

I suggest you ring HMRC and get their take on your circumstances - then you have evidence that you checked

3. Likes Bluebell liked this post
    Apr 11
    Latest Inspection Grade
    GOOD
    Post Thanks / Like