New to Tax returns
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  2
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

Default New to Tax returns

Hi everyone, I am new to tax returns and dreading starting! I have been minding since November 2011 and just about to do my 2011/2012 return, I was very quiet when I started so I am pretty sure I will be within my personal allowance.

Please tell me it is ok once you get going and get your head around it!

2. Likes Susana0600 liked this post
    feb 05
    Post Thanks / Like

Don't worry it's really easy if you do it online

Sept 90
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

It is easy, just add up all your income and expenses and take exp. off income and that is your profit before tax and then deduct the personal
    allowance which is 7495 this tax year and anything over that is taxable and class 4 national ins payable. Online opt to do the short version
    tax form and its over before you know it and calculation done. Good luck
    Cath

Non childminder member
    Accountant
    Post Thanks / Like

Not quite Cath, different amounts apply before Income Tax and Class 4 NI are payable. This financial year (2012/13) it is £8,105 (Tax) and £7,605 (National Insurance), next year it is £9,440 and £7,755.

The online return works it all out for you anyway

Apr2011
    Post Thanks / Like

Default tax return 2011-2012

Hi everyone, I am in the same situation as victoria bvl, someone out there can advice me about some program or software that I can use to facilitate this, thank you in advance

Non childminder member
    Accountant
    Post Thanks / Like

I would always say that there is no substitute for the personal service a good accountant can give, but then I am biased

However the next best thing is probably TaxCalc which is a version of the software many accountants use.

8. Likes Susana0600 liked this post
    Apr2011
    Post Thanks / Like