Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Registered Childminder since
    Mar 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Messed up with food claims

Hi everyone
    I've been claiming £5 per day per child for food, for the past two years regardless of whether they just stay for lunch or whether they have tea too. I worked it out as an average. I recently put this up to £5.50 due to rising costs etc.
    I think I need to look again at this as have come up with £120 claim for one week (I been looking after 5 extra siblings). My shopping bill for that week was only £80! They only stay for lunch. I def need to change it to just cover lunchtimes but does this mean I have to backtrack all my accounts for the last two years?!!??
    Panicking now cos I've got in a right muddle
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Lisa x
    Blondes have more fun!

Oct 04
    Post Thanks / Like

By rights, I think you should do an adjustment in your tax return, however....
    I personally would just do last years if I hadn't submitted already, and from april of this year

I have separate costings for breakfast, dinner, and tea, and allocate the relevant costings to each child. I then review my costings every 2 or 3 months. Yes it's a pain, but it keeps me happy

Edit: You said your shopping bill was only £80 but do you do 'top ups' from the local shop, treaty stuff etc? Don't forget to add that on, and you may surprise yourself at just how much you ARE spending
    Last edited by madmamma; 15-08-2012 at 09:55 PM. Reason: added

Oct 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good :-)
    Post Thanks / Like

I charge 50p breakfast, 1.50 cold lunch and 2.50 for hot ome cooked meal. Snacks are 50p.

In my diary each day, I tally mark the time 8.00 with how ever many had breakfast, and 12pm with lunch.....and so on.
    Not hard to remember .

The it's all in my diary to transfer to spread sheet which has the formulas to work out and calculate .