PDA

View Full Version : childminded children using mobile phones

cupcake mummy
04-04-2012, 10:10 AM
Hi

this is my first time on the forum so please bear with me! I'm after some advice/info please, one of my childminded children who is 10 arrived yesterday with a mobile phone in their pocket. I asked them to put it away and not use it but they snuck it upstairs to my sons bedroom (which is registered as a playroom) and sent and received several texts and phone calls. I again asked them to put it away and not use which they eventually did but when mum arrived she asked why the child couldn't answer their phone as she was calling it! I asked her not to send it again but she thinks I am being unreasonable - it's their phone and it's up to her whether her child has a phone or not. I am worried about child protection issues as I don't know who the child is phoning or texting, is the child taking photos of other children on the phone and as it's a smart phone does the child have internet access.

Any advice gratefully received as I think I am right on this one but would like it confirmed - thanks Tracey

caz3007
04-04-2012, 10:54 AM
In my view a 10 year old is too young to have one, but have had mindies younger than that who have had them. I dont allow them in my house as wouldnt want them to get lost and also like you say, you dont have any control over what the content is. Even when I have had older after school children who have used my computer, we have agreed the websites and they are in full view

Bridey
04-04-2012, 10:58 AM
I wouldn't accept a child having a phone switched on. Neither would I accept a parent thinking the measures I take to safeguard the children in my care unreasonable. I think a written policy is required asap.