PDA

View Full Version : 11 yr old

Diana67
29-03-2012, 07:36 PM
Hi

I have had a phone call to look after 11yr old after school 3 times a week .She will make her own way to my house(walking with a friend) and mum will collect will be 4-6.I have said I charge £8 for 2 hrs after school so be £24 (6hrs).I am a newbie so cant turn work away do you think this is reasonable mum said she will do homework and if its ok with me might go to her friends in next street depends how I feel about it.

Diana

mushpea
29-03-2012, 07:49 PM
I had a 11yrold for a while who walked to mine and I made it clear that I wasnt to be held responsible for her untill she got to me and whilst with me she stayed with me untill collection time, as it was an ad hock arrangment I just charged for when she was here but your charges sound resonable.
you have to think of the saftey implications of the other children in your care if she does go out on her own and there is a problem ie what would you do with the others if this girl hurt herself and you had to go find her , would they all get their shoes etc on quick enough

Diana67
29-03-2012, 07:58 PM
Thank you Mushypea

I did say to mum that I would be responsible for her while in my care and I would be concerned she said its up to me .So I think I feel better saying no even thou I havent got any mindies at minute.

Diana

sarah707
29-03-2012, 08:11 PM
I was approached about an 11 year old recently.

I said fine about walking to me... but I could not be responsible until she got to my door.

I have a independent arrival policy that I will give parents and a permission form.

I said no to being elsewhere as it's not covered by my insurance - you should check with yours!

Hth

Bridey
30-03-2012, 09:42 AM