PDA

View Full Version : Advice for Newbies!!

Weeze1979
29-03-2012, 10:21 AM
Morning all,

I have recently registered and, although I have 15 years Early Years experience behind me... Childminding is a new experience altogether, and I'm pretty sure I'm not alone!

So I was just wondering if there were any mega advice or tips you lovely lot would share with us newbies? Things you swear by now, things you wish you'd known before or items you wouldn't live without, tips for managing your own children (or hubby :rolleyes:), your house as a business...... absolutey anything!

Can't wait to hear them! :clapping: Thanks in advance :thumbsup:

The Juggler
29-03-2012, 10:32 AM
welcome, well here goes - you did ask :laughing:

make sure you have a supportive hubby/partner who pulls his weight with the housework of an evening and understands that you are working all day too :laughing:

buy things as you go along, you can "buy back" your own kids stuff in your accounts if you use them for work.

use car boots and charity shops and the sales

make sure they know about you - what kind of setting you will run what to expect in terms of observations/photos feedback - are they happy with that - would they expect more or less?

make sure parents are aware of what their children will be doing and they will get mucky/messy so please send a change of clothes.

make sure they know how it will impact you if they turn up late to drop off (especially if you have a school run) or pick up (if you have your own children to sort)

make sure parents are fully aware of what they will be paying for or not paying for in detail when signing contracts i.e. you understand then that you will be paying whether your child attends or not but if I'm ill there is no fee etc, etc,

make sure they are fully aware they will need to make arrangeemnts if their child is sick as per your policy.