PDA

View Full Version : Fostering and Childminding - anyone do this?

sandieo
28-03-2012, 04:01 PM
Hi, I'm just starting out as a childminder - no children yet, but working on it! I'm also looking into fostering ...was wondering if anyone has any experience of doing the two together? I think its do-able.

rosebud
28-03-2012, 05:16 PM
Hi

I have been a childminder for 9 years and am about to go in front of the fostering panel in 3 weeks. (fingers crossed please!) You need to check with your local authority whether they'll let you do both as some don't, my LA don't so I have applied with another nearby one and they are assessing me on my individual circumstances. So far my social worker seems happy that I can manage both, I want to foster babies and my childminding work focuses on under 5's so I don't see that it would be a problem. However I think it would be different if I had a lot of after schoolers and I don't think that would work as fostered children often have lots of emotional difficulties and need a lot of attention. Financially you would be better off just childminding as fostering doesn't pay as much and you will be responsible for buying everything for a foster child so that is definitely NOT a reason to do it.
I think that there are others on here who do both so they may come along with their experiences but you could also try doing a search as it has been discussed before. Good luck with whatever you decide.

sandieo
30-03-2012, 04:53 PM
Thanks for that, it never even occurred to me that the LA wouldnt allow you to do both - though when I mentioned it to my area childminding advisor she didnt seem to think there'd be a problem. Anyway, early days.
Fingers crossed that your panel goes ok :)

brightstar
31-03-2012, 01:05 PM