PDA

View Full Version : CYPOP 5 for childminder registered for 9 years !!

Little Pickles
21-03-2012, 10:22 AM
Hi I have posted this on the training board too but I wondered if anyone on this board would be able to advise too please ?
I am currently doing the DCYPW level 3 , most people on the course are people in the process of registering and have just completed the CYPOP5 course. It has been suggested that I will have to do the CYPOP5 course now as well! I have been registered for 9 years and have had good grades from Ofsted on every inspection, I regularly undertake training courses provided by the local authority and I am not arogant enough to think I kow everything but why should I now take on another course one evening a week to teach me how to do a job I have been doing well for the last 9 years ?!?!?
Can anyone else please let me know if they have come up against this please
Many thanks

linda2girls
21-03-2012, 10:31 AM
Yes, I am doing the Level 3 and I'm doing it as one of the optional units.

Linda.

rickysmiths
21-03-2012, 10:49 AM
An odd way of putting it to you!

The thing is that CYPOP 5 forms part of the Diploma and this is why a lot of Authorities are using it as the Introduction to Childminding course so that these new cms have already completed a Module of the new Diploma if they then want to go on and complete the whole thing.

If you have been minding for some time like me you won't have done that Module but we have to complete it to get the Diploma. It has nothing to do with being a new minder or not.

It may be that the way you are doing the course the most efficient way for you to complete this module is to go on the same course as new childminders.

I would say the main impact on you is when is the course run and can you do it this way and does it fit in with the way and time you are already spending doing the main Diploma?

If not you need to speak to whoever is delivering the Diploma Course and see if you can do it any other way.