PDA

View Full Version : Help we have a vampire!

Playmate
16-03-2012, 02:15 PM
I have been minding for 19 years and for the first time ever I'm having to deal with a child that is biting :( The child in question is 19 months old and has a very firery temper. She does have quite a lot of language and is able to express herself verbally. She did it for the first time yesterday, bitting one child twice and another once. The first occaision the other child had taken a toy away from her, the second occasion she wanted the raisins that the other child had (she had finished hers :rolleyes:) and obviously he wasn't giving them up! The other occasion we both missed completely so have no idea what triggered it :panic:
Today at lunch time she was due to go home (grandma was 5mins late) and we were busy getting all children hand washed and sat at the table/ highchairs etc. I had put one into a high chair, turned my back as I sat another at the table and the one in the high chair yelped, you've guessed it - she has struck again:eek: Her grandmother arrived whilst child was still screaming. We both spoke sternly to he and tried to show her what she had done and how she had upset the child.
Not quite sure where to go with this, mum and grandma are devistated obviously. My biggest concern is that we have a pilot ofsted inspection on Monday and I don't want to be seen to be dealing with this incorrectly.
If anyone can share with me any experiences of how they dealt with a similar situation I would be extremely grateful.

adele1985
16-03-2012, 05:10 PM
hi hun
If it does happen when mrs O is there then this is what I would do

tell the child "its not nice to bite" sternly (as you did when grandma was there)

Ask the child to say sorry to the child they have biten

then just move them away from the situation (maybe to do another activity)

hope that helps xx (hopefully you wont have to deal with it when the inspection arrives

Blaze
16-03-2012, 05:25 PM