PDA

View Full Version : Care to Learn grrrrrr

Adiamond
11-03-2012, 08:49 AM
I have recently taken on a child (31st January) who will be funded through the care to learn scheme.

I have never done this before and didn't know what was to be done etc.... I spoke to the new mums youn parent co-ordinator and she told me that there was a form that needed to go to th eyoung mums place of education then to me and then back to mum ok thats easy enough no problems....

I didn't get the forms for a couple of weeks after the start date I filled it all in and gave it straight back to mum the same day.

Just over a week later I get a phone call from care to learn just to verify my details etc... the women said I thought when I saw the date you had missed the 28 day qualifying date!! I asked what she meant and apparently you only have 28 days from the childs start date to submit the form or you don't get the backdated money, she then said its fine it arrived on the 28th day phew!!

Anyway fastforward to Thursday I get a statement of payment letter and yes you've guessed it 4 weeks short because of the 28 day scenario, I rang them the guy on the phone didn't know what to do he said the form wasn't showing on the system he will get someone to look into it for me.

Another letter arrived yesterday just saying that they will be paying me for the child and it actually says that the form was late...

I don't know what to do about this I am nearly £500 short, I did my part filling the forms in quick but no-one else did it was out of my control but I am the only person that loses out, mum doesn't and neither does her place of education!!!!
grrrrrr what shall I do?????????????? xxxx

muffins
11-03-2012, 09:28 AM
I dont think there is much you can do other than call them & beg! Who is your contract signed with? If its the parents then its upto them to make up the short fall! Hope you get it sorted x

sarah707
11-03-2012, 09:33 AM