PDA

View Full Version : Total novice needing some help!!

WeeMacD
08-03-2012, 07:09 PM
Hi everyone,

So I am currently in the process of looking into childminding. I have contacted the SCSWIS for their registration pack. I have had a good look online and on this forum but I still have some questions so here goes...

I have seen people talking about "policies" and for when you have your visit you need to know about all the care standards and aims and objectives etc. Now will all this information be in the registration pack or is it research I need to do on my own.

Also, do I wait until I am registered to apply to SCMA and do their induction training? or should I do it while I wait for registration as I hear it can take a long time.

Basically I need a step to step guide of what happens when ( i like to be organised) anyone know of a thread/website that details such a thing!

Sorry for the rambling, any help would be MUCH appreciated as i'm bit lost!:panic:

mollywendy
08-03-2012, 08:04 PM
really think hard for you do childminder its not as roses as it sound unless you like doing loads of paper work.:)

candy cat
08-03-2012, 08:44 PM
on a more positive note:laughing:......... it is a very rewarding job and obviously liking children helps :).....yes to start with there is a lot of paperwork,but as long as you keep on top of it its not too bad . Good luck cx

candy cat
08-03-2012, 08:46 PM
p.s you need to plan how you want to run your business .....you need to do your own policies and procedures, risk assessments etc

silvermist
08-03-2012, 10:00 PM
There are loads of policy templates on Bromley Childminding website, its very useful as you can adapt them to suit your setting. There is loads of advice on this forum too, someone will always come along and help. Good luck x

Kirsteen
09-03-2012, 12:14 PM
hi there ;)