PDA

View Full Version : Would you give notice? / tricky notice letter help?

leeloo1
23-02-2012, 10:15 PM
I've been minding a LO for almost 2 years, but his behaviour has becoming increasingly difficult. The parents have decided this is because LO needs more structure/more kids around, so said last week they'd be looking at nurseries (pick-ups this week were done by other people so I haven't been able to find out if there's any progress). We also agreed a behaviour plan last week, but the LO's behaviour this week has got worse/more challenging.

I feel that I want to 'firm up' their decision to look at nurseries and remove their LO sooner rather than later - then I feel conflicted as LO can be lovely (as are parents), but the behaviour when he's not being lovely is starting to make me question whether I can keep him (and other mindees) safe and the bad days are starting to outweigh the good. :(

So, would you give notice straightaway, or wait and see when they give notice?

And if you would give notice then any help on a notice letter would be appreciated.

madmamma
23-02-2012, 10:45 PM
Just a quick draft off the top of my head...

Further to previous conversations regarding behaviour having observed x for the last x (period of time), it is becoming increasingly obvious that x would be better served by attending/ would better suit a more structured environment as you suggested - if needed you could bullet point what they said

In view of this and the impact current behaviour is having on the setting/the younger children/the older children/me/next door's cat (sorry, it's late :blush:)
it is with regret I am giving notice of x weeks and the usual stuff you would give here

It has been a pleasure/experiance/nightmare (sorry, couldn't resist) having x and I wish you all well for the future

Alternatively - due to unforseen circumstances and if they ask just say it's a family matter and you'd prefer not to talk about it

leeloo1
23-02-2012, 10:54 PM