PDA

View Full Version : 9 year olds

samkeddy
22-02-2012, 12:03 PM
Hi, just after a little advice, i care for 2 9year old boys just after school. I dont relly know what to do with them???? im not very experienced with the older kids, they really just watch tv or go on laptop or ps2 or in the garden, i feel patronising if i try to involve them in activities (but i dont normally do much activity wise after school as los been at it all day).

What does everyone else do?? plus there isnt much time as we get in at 4pm and by the time theyve had drink and snack its nearly 4.30pm then they go home between 5-5.30pm usually.

Also how do you supervise, the older boys often want to play outside but the younger ones are too tired at this time and i cant see my garden from indoors, iv been leaving my 4yo dd indoors on her own and sitting outside with my 2yo on my knee supervising :rolleyes:

TIA xx

JCrakers
22-02-2012, 12:50 PM
Im feeling the same at the moment. All my after schoolies are boys aged between 5 and 9yrs. Yesterday was the first day that they've been outside in the garden because it was a little warmer and dryer.
What usually happens when they go in the garden is they come back in covered in mud and they have their sch uniform on and no change of clothes.

Last night I had 5 boys who went outside but there isnt a lot to do. They wanted the shed opening but all the trikes/ride ons are for preschool adn if I let them use them it usually ends up with something broken. Also they empty the entire shed and i have to put them all away as they have to stack a certain way :angry:

Also the problem I have that im busy doing tea and I have the younger children who need supervision outside when I cant be there.
Any footballs end up over the fence. The noise is so loud that I worry about complaints from neighbours so after 20mins they come in, watch TV,wii etc.